When I Ride…

Our Father’s Day…

Happy Father’s Day, Dad. I have to believe that my dad is reading my posts. I think he would be proud to see me stretching out of my comfort zone.

When I was growing up, I was uncomfortably shy. I couldn’t stand to meet new people and would head out the back door if I knew an introduction was imminent. Out the back door and down to the horse barn. My horse growing up was a half Arab named April. She was born in April. The people down the street had her in a pasture when we moved in and of course I wanted to ride her. I asked my parents and they said I had to ask the neighbors.

Wouldn’t they ask them for me?

No.

I didn’t ride her for awhile. How could I go down there and talk to someone I didn’t know? Too scary.

One day, I saw my parents standing in the road talking to the elderly couple. Now is my chance, I thought. I walked to the gathering of four and waited to be introduced. I couldn’t make eye contact with either of them but looked at them when my parents had them distracted. ” Lissa was wondering about your horse in the field across the street”, I heard my dad say. ” Oh, it’s fine if she would like to ride her any time she wants”, I heard Mr. McMaster say.

I don’t think I ever said thanks for that dad. Thanks for that and all the millions of ways you set my dreams into motion. Love you dad.

This entry was published on June 20, 2010 at 2:46 pm and is filed under horses. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

