When I Ride…

Ride in the rain…

I rode in unfamiliar territory today. Hauled Minnow and Dash to Valley Mills, Texas and rode in the rain.

I like to saddle horses, load them already saddled into the stock trailer then haul down the road. The chance for rain made me think twice but I figured I would not do something because it might rain. Halfway into the ride it began to pour. At first I thought about heading back to the trailer but soon I was soaked so it was kind of like stopping swimming because it was raining. Soon, I began to enjoy it.

The rain hitting the warm dirt was an extraordinary smell and then the musky scent of the sweating horses began to get stronger. Rain dripping off the leaves of trees, all of the colors becoming more vibrant as the dust was washed away. It was truly delightful. My riding partner commented” Now this is truly living“! Amen, sister.

This entry was published on July 10, 2010 at 8:35 pm. It’s filed under horses and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

