When I Ride…

Solutions rather than problems…

"Cuttin up"

Sitting in the pool after a ride this afternoon, I was thinking of all the things I would like to change in my horse program. Getting more specialized, finding a niche. I wanted to do this a long time ago and my partner didn’t think it was important. It’s his fault I’m not further along, blah, blah, blah…

Wow! It’s so easy to focus on all the things that went wrong. “Hindsight is 20-20” as THEY say. It’s all so easy to see where you should have done this instead of that after it is all over. Focusing on the “problem” is a luxury for those who are not interested in making a change. When I think about the problem, I am simply putting my energy into it. That is a fact.

I will now focus on the solution. It doesn’t take a lot of work and it isn’t a challenge to shift your focus to what is a lot more interesting and that is a solution.

I started looking at horse programs I admire. Larry and Becci Gonzales in Elgin, Texas, have an awesome program. They aren’t trying to please everyone. They turn out great cutting horses, concentrate on showing the horse to the best of it’s ability and teaching their riders how to show their own horses as well.

To be known for doing one thing really well is a great thing. You don’t have to be something to everyone.

By shifting my focus to the solution which at this moment is becoming more specialized, I have opened myself up to feel hopeful and empowered, feel more energetic and there is excitement about moving forward. That feels a lot better than the moaning I was doing earlier.

First step, decide what my specialty is. Stay tuned…

This entry was published on July 14, 2010 at 4:23 am. It’s filed under life coaching and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

