When I Ride…

Continuing Education…

Heading out for the next set of waves

Are you pretty good at something but it’s like you have hit an invisible wall preventing growth in that area of your life? I’m thinking about my training and riding abilities. You might be thinking of your management skills or people skills or knowledge on a subject that pertains to your career.

What got me to thinking about this was talking to a friend down here in Mexico about her surfing. She had an interest, took a few lessons and did alright but decided to take it to the next level. Sure she could have just practiced everyday and eventually gotten a little better here and there but she wanted to go ahead and get serious. So she started surfing with people who really knew how. She pushed herself and they encouraged her and gave her tips and before you know it, she is surfing like a champ on some really big waves after only one year. The short time period impressed me but what I really enjoyed listening to her talk about was how she made the conscious choice to just go for it. She surfed out of her comfort zone. Yep, she got hurt, had stitches and healed and kept on surfing. She excelled though. She surfed with professionals, unintimidated by their skills, just trying to master her own.

I’m good with young horses. There are so many things I would like to know about showing the older horses that I have tried to teach myself but I’m floundering around if I’m really honest. After listening to my surfing friend, I decided to ride out of my comfort zone. I’m going to go camp out at a trainer’s place I know and pick his brain for awhile. Let him push me and my showhorse to the next level. What was I waiting for?

An inspiration. Allow yourself to be inspired.

This entry was published on August 6, 2010 at 3:22 pm. It’s filed under life coaching and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

