When I Ride…

The Cheerleader is Horseback…

My husband ran his 10-“miler” this afternoon. He competes in triathlons and this will be his last LONG run before his race day. I’m the cheerleader. I’m also the water carrier and just some good company if I do say so myself. 10 miles is a long time! I’m trotting Minnow for 10 miles. Posting a trot up and down hills, dodging the rocks and branches, it’s an obstacle course when you train on the ranch.

One interesting thing to note: If you want to gather ALL of the cows at one time, run half-naked through the pasture. Every single cow threw her head up and started to run toward my husband as he crossed the pasture. At first I thought they were just acting crazy because there was something new happening and I’ll bet it gets kind of boring out there, day after day. But soon it was obvious, they were following him. They trot after him all the way to the next gate. I watched from way back there because I didn’t want to ruin it. It was hilarious. Wish I had taken a video for UTube.

Pretty soon, I was getting worn out. It was like running a relay in high school. I would trot up next to him when he put his hand out and put a bottle of water in it. Then when he was finished, I would trot up there again to grab the bottle, but I had to time it just right and try not to run over him. Actually, I was counting on Minnow to watch out for that. I had my eye on the bottle.

When we got back to the barn, Minnow and I were walking with our heads down. I was pooped and when I rinsed him off he didn’t even do his usual cringe move when the water hit him. He just stood there like, do whatever you want to me. I’m too tired to complain. He thinks he is so sensitive.

One Aleve and a glass of wine. That was all I could do before I climbed between the cool sheets.  I’m glad I’m just the cheerleader!

This entry was published on October 8, 2010 at 3:51 am. It’s filed under horses and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “The Cheerleader is Horseback…

  1. Hi Lissa, I love your “blog”! How cool for your husband, JT to have his own support crew! I wish I had that on my long runs! I just have my car which at any given point can be up to three miles away as I do 6 miles loops two or three times for a long training run. I would much rather have you and Minnow trotting beside me! Lucky man, your husband is!
    And I have experienced the cow chasing thing too! Ha, ha, they run after you! So funny! I used to run this one route just to have the cows chase me and they DID! Every time!! Thank you for sharing your story!

Leave a Reply

