When I Ride…

My Photo of Jesus…

Handsome gentleman in Nanyuki

Give me some money” he said. I turned and looked at the man who had just knocked on the glass of the car window. “Excuse me?” I answered.

You give me money” he repeated. If I hadn’t been sitting in a car next to a friend, it would have startled me. “May I take your picture?” I asked . Darned if I’m gonna just give him money. He was so interesting looking. A real character. His face perked up. “Yes” he said. “$200 shillings

Okay” I said and I took a step back to focus.

Money first” he said. Really?

Oh, alright” I answered and chuckled to myself. No telling how many jerks had just taken a photo and walked off and left him. I set the camera down and started digging in my purse. Handing him the $200 shillings, I again picked up the camera and turned around to take his picture. He was walking away.

Sir, sir !!!” I called after him. He turned around and smiled. Crafty old dude.

Sir, please now. I gave you that money in good faith” He smiled. “$500 shillings and you can take as many photos as you would like” he said. He was laughing at me and I had to agree, the situation was turning comical.

No, I just want one photo” I answered. My group was waiting for me and a couple of passers bye were turning to watch.

He stood and I clicked my one shot very carefully since I only got one.

C’mon, Lissa!” I heard someone call out. Frustrating. I could have taken twenty and not been satisfied.

I started thinking about the story from Sunday School about if Jesus came to your house as a beggar, how would you treat him if you didn’t know it was Jesus?

Guess you never really know who you are talking to…do you?

This entry was published on December 3, 2010 at 5:35 pm. It’s filed under contemplations, relationships, spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “My Photo of Jesus…

  1. squidley on said:

    THIS is POWERFUL STUFF, Lissa Girl! Has to be one of my favorite so far!
    Reminds me of one of my favorite passages in The Bible–Hebrews 13:2
    I try to “entertain” as many ANGELS as I can find ….or…. that FIND ME!
    You, my DEAR Sister, have an INCREDIBLE GIFT—keep on WRITING!
    XOXO, squidley

  2. Oh Squid. You are so encouraging. One of the reasons you were such an awesome teacher for so long. Can’t wait to see how you will use those God given talents next!

Leave a Reply

