When I Ride…

That Magic Moment…

I went to bed on New Year’s Eve long before the ball dropped in Times Square. As I started to wake up on the first day of the year 2011, I rolled over to see the light changing from dark to light gray.

Good. I still had time.

Rolling out of bed, I shuffled to my closet and pulled on my insulated pants and my Uggs. It was supposed to be freezing out there so I was getting prepared. Walking to the back door, I grabbed my coat off the hook, picked up the camera and opened the door. Punkin stuck her head out of her doghouse and looked up at me. “Where’re we going?” was the look on her face.

“Wanna go? It’s gonna be cold!” I told her. She trot with me through the yard and I lift her into the bed of the truck. I looked at the horizon. Good, we still have time.

Mightey Whitey, my white Ford deisel struggled in the cold morning air. Poor deisels. They need a little time to warm up so I sat and thought about running back inside to get some hot tea. Nope, no time.

Putting the truck in gear, we pulled away from the house and drove across the pond dam to the closest hill for the best view. There it was. Pink was beginning to glow from where I thought the sun would come up and Punkin and I settled down in the grass for the next few cold minutes to wait.

Slowly, the light turned more pink then red and finally golden as the sun peeked over the top of the hill in front of me. Click, click, I started taking pictures. Finally I stopped. I’m missing this I told myself. Putting the camera down and wrapping my arms around my knees, I sat and thought about all the people in the world who had already experienced the first sunrise of 2011 and have gone on about their day. I sat quietly, just watching, thinking. I am going to dream a really big dream for myself at this moment, I thought. There must be a special kind of magic that helps dreams come true, when you dream them at the first sunrise of the year.

Okay, that’s silly. That magic is around all the time. Maybe I just felt it more strongly at that special moment. I think that’s it.

Being in the moment IS the magic.

First sunrise of 2011

 

This entry was published on January 2, 2011 at 8:57 pm. It’s filed under contemplations, nature, relationships, spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “That Magic Moment…

  1. That’s just beautiful Lissa! Write On Babe….

  2. We are gonna have an awesome year!

Leave a Reply

