When I Ride…

Shades of Grey…

Looking across the Texas Hill Country, while horseback, the multiple horizons fade into grey.

Each horizon is determined by where I am standing. “Look to the horizon” is not a simple request. From where?

In my relationships, I have moved through the world thinking I knew what I needed to know to be on top of a situation. As I watch the horizons change, walking my horse from one hill to the next I’m reminded of a Billy Joel song.

 

Shades of grey wherever I go

The more I find out the less that I know

Black and white is how it should be

But shades of grey are the colors I see”

I can never know what it’s like to be someone else or to see something from their perspective. If I can never truly know then I can try but ultimately let it go. I think that all we are supposed to do is love the people and animals in our lives. Let God take care of the rest. Not try to explain our view (be right) or instruct anyone on how they should look at something. Be encouraging and guide by example, not words.

Now with the wisdom of years, I try to reason things out

And the only people I fear are those who never have doubts

Save us all from arrogant men, and all the causes they’re for

I won’t be righteous again

I’m not that sure anymore”

Promise to be a bit fluffier next time…

Hill Country Horizons

 

 

This entry was published on January 8, 2011 at 1:37 pm. It’s filed under contemplations, family, life coaching, relationships, spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

