When I Ride…

Ehrlichia-Punkin’s Vet Appointment…

Punkin, the Happy Dog

She just isn’t herself. That’s what I told my husband while we were at the river house over the weekend. I became more concerned when she didn’t want to finish our walk. I knew it wasn’t heartworms. She is on a preventative for that. She gags sometimes. Runs out of energy faster than usual. Seems sore in her hips. I couldn’t really put my finger on it, I just knew she wasn’t feeling her usual smiley self.

On the way back to the ranch, I stopped into the vet’s office. He had been the person I took her to when I found her, nine years ago. He knew her story and best of all he cared.

After some blood work, he said, it’s probably ehrlichia.

What?

Apparently, she has had it for a long time and there are no symptoms until it is in it’s later stages. He thinks she will be alright though. Her liver and kidneys have not been affected yet. It comes from a tick bite which he assured me is impossible to prevent. She lives in the country, after all, and even with a tick preventative, she could still get bit.

We started her on antibiotics right away. She likes all of the treats she is getting! Little does she know, they have her medicine in them. Hopefully, in a month or two, she will be back to her frisky self.

Daily walk

Business as usual, she will stay home on horseback rides but we will still go on our walks. Maybe we will go off the beaten path a bit and not be gone so long. Maybe we will pray a little along the way. Lord, thank you for Punkin. Help her to feel better soon.

Punkin takes the lead

This entry was published on February 17, 2011 at 11:15 pm. It’s filed under contemplations, dogs, health, nature, relationships, spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on “Ehrlichia-Punkin’s Vet Appointment…

  1. Mary K. Dunn on said:

    I am so sorry…about pukin….that breaks my heart…..I look forward to hearing a positive update soon.

  2. Oh Sweet Pumpkin, she’ll be better soon!

  3. Lissa, the love can very much. The medicines also. I am going to pray for her…
    Cruz del Sur

  4. Hope punkin starts feeling better, she sure is a pretty dog. Good on you for trusting your instincts and pushing for answers!!

    cheers! MJ

  5. dressage rider on said:

    Wishing for a speedy recovery for Punkin. My dogs enjoy banana slices and I’ve used that to hide many pills.

    My nine year old golden retriever contracted Lyme disease and it progressed to kidney disease before it was caught by her previous owner. We adopted her at the beginning of her treatments and it was an expensive first year. Thankfully she no longer needs meds.

Leave a Reply

