When I Ride…

Heartache Has a New Face

 

The little girl

About a week ago…she showed up. I had been out-of-town for a few days and when I drove up, she ran to me from the porch like I was a long-lost relative. My heart said,”Oh, crap”.

See, this is how I got Punkin. Who is doing much better, by the way.

She wasn’t in this good of shape, she could barely walk, and I took her to the vet expecting her to die. He calls and says…nope…she will be fine so I think… I will just keep her a couple of weeks, get her looking better and then take her to the shelter. Hmmm…

That was 9 years ago.

Sizing each other up

So I put my heart under cover and walked past her like…I’m gonna feed you but don’t expect a love affair.

Punkin is looking at me like…really? You are going to feed IT? So I feed it in the kennel so it will be all ready in a few days to just jump in there and take the ride to the shelter. I’m always training…dogs, horses, people. I ought to try it on myself someday.

I put up posters in town at the hardware store, post office and grocery. We only have 700 folks living in the vicinity so surely someone will recognize her… and…

Nothing.

The only thing is, today while I was watering over at the garden, she gently walked up and licked me on the cheek. No little sweetie, there is nothing wrong with you. You are a precious little dog and you deserve love and affection like anyone else. That’s when it happened. I picked her up and hugged her and told her what a good girl she was. Darn it.

When I got back to the house, the phone was ringing. It was the lady at the shelter. “We finally have room for her”, she said. “Just have her here by 4:00PM”.

Be still, heart. She will make someone a wonderful and loyal friend.

 

 

 

 

This entry was published on March 19, 2011 at 6:17 pm. It’s filed under contemplations, dogs, relationships, Texas and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on “Heartache Has a New Face

  1. karen on said:

    With tears rolling, I can say “that really touched my heart”

  2. Oh man…you did the right thing…she found the right woman to help her find a great home!

  3. To thousands of miles of distance a history that joins the persons that we feel love for the animals …, it is good for the heart …

  4. Thank you, yes. I thought you would connect to this one. Peace.

  5. she knew what she was doing when she singled you out to help her get to her forever home. Bless her fuzzy little heart .. and your big, open one. 🙂 MJ

    • wheniride on said:

      Now that I’m familiar with the shelter, I can drop off big bags of dogfood now and then. It’s all good. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

