When I Ride…

Snails are High in the Grass…

Rain is gold in the brittle Texas Hill Country where I grew up. I listened to my family sitting around the kitchen table talking about weather and how to forecast changes from signs that nature gave us. Changes in animal behavior, cloud formations and how a person felt when they woke up in the morning, were all ways to predict the future weather.

Snails crawling up the grass stems

I heard Ray Owens, an old timer friend of the family, say that when snails are high in the grass, a big rain is coming.

Walking down by the river, I heard a crunch.

Looking down to see what I had stepped on, I saw it was one of those small snails you see in the dirt. But as I looked, I noticed a bunch of them. They are all high up on the grass stems too. A ton of them.

Snail on grass

So I started to remember the folklore I had heard through the years. One of the first was something I read on a calendar as a child. Red sky in morning, sailors take warning. Red sky at night, sailor’s delight.

Moon halos indicate a coming rain.

Crickets chirp faster when it is hot.

When clouds look like mare’s tails it will rain within 3 days.

And my favorite, because my great grandmother said it…if after a rain you can see enough blue sky to make a cat a pair of britches…it will clear.

This entry was published on April 30, 2011 at 10:07 pm. It’s filed under contemplations, ecology, family, nature, Texas and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “Snails are High in the Grass…

  1. Mary K. Dunn on said:

    Love the pictures! You are getting better with age!…I hope it is true about the snails. Talk to you soon.

  2. Every day better pictures …

  3. Loved the photos! This was so interesting, I have never seen snails up so high. But I don’t think I have ever seen snails like that :). Maybe it’s a southern thing?

    Cheers, MJ

Leave a Reply

