When I Ride…

Latitude 32.06°N and Longitude 97.75°W (Elev. 918 ft)

7-Day Forecast for Latitude 32.06°N and Longitude 97.75°W (Elev. 918 ft).

Wildfires, sunburned plants and “shrimpy” wildflowers have been the norm around here. I guess I need to wash my truck and the windows on the house more often. The rain has finally come. The above link is the NOAA forecast website for our position on this magnificent Earth.

I could see it coming from the south. Ominous dark grey clouds with flashes of lightning, lighting its path.

Quick glimpse of the lightning

My two cats get really silly when a storm is coming. They streak across the yard, killing small twigs, large leaves or a stray piece of rope along the way. The horses start neighing to each other. I heard a rumble coming from the other side of a hill behind the barn. Here came the mares. All colors, buckskins, sorrels, gray and a big paint mare, un pinto, running, tossing their heads like wild and free mustangs. That got the geldings all messed up.

They may not have all of their equipment, as my grandfather used to say…but they are still thinking about it. I never knew who he was really talking about when he said that…

By the way, thanks to all the well wishers.

Cinco de Mayo (5th of May) is a celebration at our house. Not only is it the day that Mexico whipped French forces at the Battle of Puebla, it is our wedding anniversary. Hmmm…marriage…Battle of Puebla…I never noticed that coincidence.

The next day is my birthday and then there was Mother’s Day. We went out-of-town for a few days.

I have a new camera to play with and a comfy psychedelic colored strap to hold it close so I can keep it with me at all times. You all will be the recipients of my experiments. So… gracias por su paciencia.

I love my life.

This entry was published on May 11, 2011 at 3:48 pm. It’s filed under family, horses, nature, Texas and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Latitude 32.06°N and Longitude 97.75°W (Elev. 918 ft)

  1. Happy belated birthday!!

    I’m enjoying the photos very much .. MJ

Leave a Reply

