When I Ride…

Day 10: Someone I need to let go…

Timing.

The saying is: Timing is Everything.

Well, now it is too late for me to become a Three-Day Eventing Competitor. No…it really is. There are just some things that the time has passed and you won’t be doing that. It was possible when I had twenty year old knees. My knees have too many years on them now so…it ain’t happening.

It’s okay. I mean, I still pretend everytime I jump a low log out in the pasture that I am competing in the cross country segment of three-day eventing. I have a picture of a rider doing just that in my bedroom. It’s a great shot and I can easily put my head on her shoulders everytime I walk by because we bought a horse that is identical to the one in the photo.

So, I have a pretty good imagination, I like to watch it on TV and I am learning more and more about dressage.

So, I can pine away and wish and wish or…I can let that someone go. The person, me, who wanted to go in that direction but took a different path. I went in the western path because that is my heritage. That was the most convenient and what I already knew…even though I started my english riding lessons in maybe, hmmm….third grade?

I ride a cutting horse now. He is also an excellent ranch horse competitor and is learning about competitive trail. Still…there is something about riding hell bent for leather one day, dancing with your horse the next day and then riding a “flying” horse, the next. It is an amazing sport, but you have to have the knees…

This entry was published on July 10, 2011 at 9:16 pm. It’s filed under dreams, horses and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Day 10: Someone I need to let go…

  1. Doctor Shoko on said:

    I like how this post is short and to the point. You could write whole pages about how bad you feel, not being able to compete in that kind of tournament (or competition, maybe? what’s the right word here?), but you chose to do it in a very “clean” way. I admire you for that 🙂

  2. Thank you. Like an earlier post said…doesn’t take many words to tell the truth. thanks for your support!

  3. I love this line: “So, I can pine away and wish and wish or…I can let that someone go. The person, me, who wanted to go in that direction but took a different path.” I’ll remember it in times of regret. Thank you for sharing.

  4. Pingback: Delete You | We're Jumpin

Leave a Reply

