When I Ride…

Day 19: What do you think of religion?

Organized religion…I think I am more of a spiritual person. There are so many rules associated with organized religion, rules that I think were made up by men, not God…that I have kind of moved away from labeling myself with a specific category.

But the question of what do I think about it?    

I LOVE that Christianity says that God is infinite and all-knowing, “un-see-able” and unknowable. So unimaginable that the only way I have heard to describe God is that it is the great I AM. I love that I can have a personal relationship with God. I don’t have to talk to God through a priest. If I have some confessing to do, I can do it directly to God. I can ride out into the pasture and scream to God, with my mouth wide open, at the top of my lungs.

I do love the fellowship of a lot of like-minded people on a Sunday morning. Occasionally, listening to a teacher who is giving me some great interpretations of what scripture means. I listen and I use the power of discernment that God gave me. I don’t think I should be made to feel bad for not showing up every time the church opens its doors. I love that the church I attend on an inconsistent basis, welcomes me with open arms even if it has been awhile.

I believe that God puts people in our paths that will teach us but we must still use our God-given abilities to decide for ourselves. Following blindly, not thinking for myself…I don’t think that is a good idea.

Religion to me is different from belief. I have a spiritual belief that I won’t go into here, that is not the question. I think religion is useful for people who need someone to lead them during their search for the truth. I have needed my pastor and some of his teachers during my search. However, I don’t follow blindly and I am glad my pastor doesn’t expect me to. He encourages us to think for ourselves but to find the answers in the Bible and in our hearts.

I believe in the power of prayer but I don’t think I have to be a member of a specific religion for it to be powerful for me.

To sum it up, I am thankful that God loves me know matter what, period…and that I don’t have to be a member of any religion for that to be the truth.

Vacation photo of the day:

Before they all wake up...

This entry was published on July 19, 2011 at 3:28 am. It’s filed under 30 Day Truth Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

11 thoughts on “Day 19: What do you think of religion?

  1. Pingback: Religion/Politics – Eeps! | We're Jumpin

  2. Talking about religion could be such a sensitive case, everyone has their own opinion about it. But I am pretty much having the same idea with you. I think on my Day 19, I’ll just copy paste your post … 😀

    I like how u say “I think religion is useful for people who need someone to lead them during their search for the truth.”

  3. I agree with your post in most respects, but would add one thing… my most life-changing experiences were those occurring by the design of others, and in a group or community of others. So religion, if it is just a way of categorizing, really is a means to spending time with people who believe as we do.

    I have heard people say, “Christianity is not a religion, it is a relationship,” as if they were speaking of opposites. If religion is what people do instead of having a relationship with God, then they are opposites. But if God calls us to relationship, as some have said, then the earthly example, flawed as it may be, would be the community we have with others. The relationship experience could be birthed, or enhanced by, communal worship in a religious format.

    As someone who has seen too much of the errors of religion, I am tempted to chuck the whole thing at times, but I realize my need for community as well, and periodically re-enter the fray.

    I enjoyed your post… thank you for writing.

  4. Doctor Shoko on said:

    As you can probably guess, I don’t fully agree with you on the matter, but I really like your prespective anyway 🙂

    • Haha! You always add such a great perspective to these conversations…thank you for being here! We aren’t really that different.

      • Doctor Shoko on said:

        When I come to think of it, you remind me of one of my friends – we are very similiar in our beliefs, yet, difine them in two, almost opposite ways.

        Thanks for making such a good ground for these conversations (:

  5. God is everywhere. I share your view.

  6. Every morning God shows us his smile.

    Paulo Coelho

Leave a Reply

