When I Ride…

Bumper Crop in Crested Butte…

There is a bumper crop of wildflowers in Crested Butte this year. The wildflower festival was a huge success according to the locals. Because of the consistent rainfall this year, the flowers are tall and widespread. Cooler temperatures keep them hanging around even longer.

Helianthella quinquenervis-ASPEN SUNFLOWER

I took an hour hike along the Columbine Trail this morning…last one before we depart tomorrow. Here are some of what I saw.

Columbine Trail Head

CURLY GOLDENWEED FLOWER- Pyrrocoma crocea

MARIPOSA LILY FLOWER -Calochortus gunnisonii

Aspen Leaf

Even the leaves are pretty up here.

BLUE FLAX FLOWERS- Linum lewisii

ALPINE FIREWEED FLOWERS- Epilobium latifolium

SEED HEAD FROM LOVAGE PLANT- Levisticum officinale

Violet- not a native

To my knowledge, this violet is not a native but it was so pretty growing in the soft, green moss…I had to capture it on film. (I mean …digital camera…)

GEYER LARKSPUR- Delphinium geyeri

Too much? I didn’t think so…

COWSLIP PARSLEY

…AND ONE MORE, BECAUSE THIS COULD GO ON FOR A LONG TIME…

WESTERN ASTER

So, just a peek at the variety and beauty of the flowers blooming at this time. This is a treat for my friends in Texas because every wildflower that even THOUGHT of blooming this summer is a distant, dried up memory.

I’m leaving tomorrow for Taos. More later.

This entry was published on August 6, 2011 at 5:17 am. It’s filed under horses and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Bumper Crop in Crested Butte…

  1. I have a wildflower obsession! Thanks for taking me along on your hike and showing me some that I’ve never seen before. Great pictures!

  2. Actually, some of your photos inspired me! Thank you.

  3. Flowers are a gift from God…
    Cruz

Leave a Reply

