When I Ride…

The most enjoyable hour of my day…

Do you have a most enjoyable hour?

Mine actually happens throughout the day. Five minutes here…five minutes there…and they all add up.

The first couple of minutes, after I realize I woke up, are probably the first favorites. I always assume I will wake up the following day, after I get into bed the night before…but it isn’t a given as we all know. I smile when I see the sun shining through the window.

I love my hot tea in the morning. I think if I was on safari in the desert, I would start a small fire and heat water to make tea. It is in my DNA.

I really enjoy putting birdseed in the feeder and filling the hummingbird feeder. Sometimes the birds sit on the lower branches of the trees, ready to swoop down after I have stepped away. I like that they feel comfortable enough around me to do that.

I like sprinkling a bit of cat food on the porch for our two cats in the morning. It makes them shut up the constant meowing that greets me when I open the door to the yard.

I like opening the house up for a few minutes in the morning so that the fresh air comes in after a night of air conditioning. I breathe deeply as the warm air hits the room.

I also REALLY like walking to the barn to greet horses after I have had a bit of breakfast. Their whinnies give me goosebumps.

At the end of the day, I enjoy going to the swimming pool and diving under water. When I get under I hold my nose and look up at the sky through the water. Then I go limp and float to the top. I love that weightless feeling.

I think the best though, is coming together with whomever is at the house in the evening…enjoying a cocktail and watching my husband cook. If he isn’t home, I usually don’t eat. I just like sitting there and doing nothing. Might watch a movie, I love movies.

Lately, my son has been home and I get to joke around with him.

It won’t be long, he will be gone again so I am really soaking up every minute. It’s all good. That’s how it should be.

All those moments add up to at least an hour. All is well throughout the day. Blessed.

This entry was published on August 12, 2011 at 2:19 am. It’s filed under contemplations and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “The most enjoyable hour of my day…

  1. Wow, gorgeous photo and what a great post.

    My horse nickers softly now, every time she sees me. There was a time when I was sure she’d never even like me the slightest little bit, so it’s amazing to me every single time it happens. 🙂

  2. I really loved this. I felt like I was with you at those moments … and those morning nickers are delights aren’t they? I get a look from my old dog every morning – when he awakens he’s got what we call a “scrunchy face” – sort of crunched up around the eyes and nose. He gives me a certain look of complete love and devotion that melts my soul. That’s a favorite part of every day and I can’t bear to think about the day when he’s no longer here to give that to me.

    What a thought-provoking post! MJ

Leave a Reply

