When I Ride…

Letter to Santa Claus…

Dear Santa,

Do you remember me? I was the girl who wanted a BB gun, a horse, a cat and a dog. Nothing has changed much. Well, I guess it really has.

We haven’t listened to Flatt and Scruggs or Chet Atkins on the record player on Christmas morning in a long time, I guess since dad left the earth. We still have pastries and Mimosas before we open presents but it will be at our family’s river house this year. That could become our new tradition and I wouldn’t mind that a bit. My son is home and his dog Duke and my little black, shiny Otis have joined the family.

My sister rolling out the pastry dough

So, as you can see, we are starting new traditions. This year, what I want Santa, is for everyone to be alright with the changes. Okay, I mean I want to be alright with them. Mainly, I would like to hear the nieces and nephews laughing and teasing each other while we make cookies or ornaments for a tree we decorate for fun and not try to create a masterpiece.

Let there be no schedule so that no one is watching the clock. Let everyone bring the kind of food that they like and most of all…help us to not have any, set in stone, expectations of how it should be…even me…of how Christmas should look and feel. Help us to simply BE Christmas, not  do Christmas.

The simple Christmas of my childhood has left the building. Families blend, siblings move away, sons and daughters get their own lives and families have changes, some major, some minor. But our ancestors made it a priority to keep family first and that has been passed down and is the tradition that will never end. Someone may not be able to make it Christmas morning but we will be loving them from afar. Someone might not WANT to participate but they are being loved as well, until they decide to come back.

Until then, family has taken on a whole new meaning. It includes friends, and friends of friends. But the main thing is that it “includes”. Christmas at our house will be ALL inclusive.

Oh, and Santa, I also would like a “yurt”. You might have to look that up.

This entry was published on December 10, 2011 at 5:15 pm. It’s filed under childhood, family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

9 thoughts on “Letter to Santa Claus…

  1. Amen! Woohoo! & hohoho!

  2. Got your Santa hat on?

  3. Lynne Storm on said:

    Wow! You have outdone yourself. This is the best ever. Wish I could send it to the New York Times.

  4. Bravo!

    and I have given you a blog award; pop on over to my site for more info 🙂 MJ

  5. It was near Christmas.
    Very Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

