When I Ride…

Haiku…

I was reading some examples of Haiku this morning during a quiet, dawn breaking moment. I was remembering how much I enjoyed writing my small child’s examples of Haiku that we learned about in elementary school.

Later today, I am loading Minnow into my big horse trailer. I have my mini fridge packed with all of my favorite foods, saddle, bridle and blankets, favorite pillow on the bed ( I’ll be gone a few days) and I’m headed to the rocky-est, steep part of the Texas Hill Country, Bandera. It’s about a five hour drive through little, Texas towns, lots of coffee stops at the local gas station.

I will be competing with about 100 other riders, in a judged cross-country obstacle ride near Pipe Creek. I haven’t ever done this before, being judged that is…and I’m looking forward to learning what it’s all about.

Minnow and I have been practicing side passing over logs, backing up inclines, hopping over small,  fallen logs…

I think he enjoys it because he gets real serious and careful as we approach each obstacle.

Here is my Haiku about how I am feeling today as I leave for this new adventure…

When we step forward

fear has no power over us

all steps are in joy

– Lissa

This entry was published on January 13, 2012 at 2:56 pm. It’s filed under horses, life coaching and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Haiku…

  1. He’s a beauty. I used to compete in “Western Trail” and it sounds a bit like what you and Minnow are being asked to do, although yours sounds much more involved.

    Have a great *(safe) trip.

    Is Otis going?
    MJ

    • Funny you should ask…I’m going back and forth on that but I think I’ll just take him. He loves his kennel and can stay in there during the ride. Thanks for your encouragement!

  2. Bon voyage and good performance¡¡¡
    Adiós¡¡¡

  3. Mi Haiku – Deja que tu caballo galope por los campos, él será como el viento y sabrá llegar hasta tu lugar soñado…

    My Haiku – Let your horse galloping through the fields, he will be know as the wind and to reach your dream place …

Leave a Reply

