When I Ride…

Gratitude: Day 15 and Emerson and Coolidge

Inspirational quotes. They are infinite. Emerson, Ralph Waldo…that is, wrote books full of them.

“Divine persons are victory organized”

Nothing is impossible to me. It never occurs to me that I could lose. There is always some way that I am victorious in what I set my mind to. I will find a way.

My dad had quotes he would tape to the refrigerator to inspire him and I’m sure he hoped it would not miss our attention, my brothers and sister and myself. I saw this quote everyday, multiple times as I walked through the kitchen…

It speaks of persistence being the key to success.

“Nothing in the world can take the place of persistence. Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not; the world is full of educated derelicts. Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent. “
― Calvin Coolidge

Amen to that. I believe you also must be a bit insane. Not following the status quo…thinking outside of the box…coming at a situation from an unexpected direction. And it must be unexpected or the nay-sayers will be able to get a heading on your direction. How many times have I or you been on the cusp of something big and the people around you get scared…whether they know this is why they are saying it or not…and they tell you, “It can’t be done” or, “That will be pretty hard to pull off”.

To that, I say, Thank you. That is just what I needed to hear to push me to the finish line.

I will always run toward those things I am afraid of…and dance.

This entry was published on March 8, 2012 at 8:12 pm. It’s filed under Gratitude and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Gratitude: Day 15 and Emerson and Coolidge

  1. A philosophical shot, as if it were a baseball get your words today, certainly very good post, horses and Otis great.
    Feliz día de la mujer¡¡¡

Leave a Reply

