When I Ride…

Gratitude: Day 19 and Wabi-Sabi

What does Wabi Sabi  (wah-be  sah-be)  mean?!
“[Wabi-sabi] nurtures all that is authentic by acknowledging three simple realities: nothing lasts, nothing is finished, and nothing is perfect.”
I have been researching small living spaces. Homes less than 900 square feet and how to build using quality materials without breaking the bank, as they say. I have looked at one room cabins, yurts, teepees, re-used grain silos…and one thing stands out among all of them. Staying or living long term in a structure this small would require a different way of thinking about what my priorities will be in my day to day life. Simple and effecient will be a lot more literal.
As I was reading, I came upon this term, wabi-sabi. It was used in an article about appreciating and acknowledging the beauty in simple everyday items or rituals.
Daisetz T. Suzuki, an expert on Zen… wrote,”Wabi is to be satisfied with a little hut, a room of two or three tatami mats, like the log cabin of Thoreau, and with a dish of vegetables picked in the neighboring fields, and perhaps to be listening to the pattering of a gentle spring rainfall.”
I won’t go into a long description here because I try to keep my posts short. If it sounds like something you would be interested in learning more about, this is an excellent explaination. Enjoy!
photo: Vanseodesign
This entry was published on March 15, 2012 at 4:31 pm. It’s filed under Gratitude and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Gratitude: Day 19 and Wabi-Sabi

  1. Wonderful, I haven’t known this, Thank you, with my love, nia

  2. Very interesting your post today, is nutritious to see things from another position and perspective, I welcome the link of Wabi-Sabi, very good to read in my garden shed with overhang when it rains…

Leave a Reply

