When I Ride…

Gratitude: Day 22 and gathering cattle

This video says it all. I love bringing the cows in to the pens…

I’m just moving them from a nearby pasture that is in a rotation of the entire ranch but there is a rich history, of course, to this lovely excericise in reading animal behavior and just enjoying time atop a good cowhorse.

Millions of longhorns were driven northward across the plains to railheads in Kansas during the period 1867-1889. This was to feed this healing nation after the Civil War over state’s rights. The Shawnee Trail, The Chisholm Trail, The Loving-Goodnight Trail, and The West Trail were the main trails leading to market. The saying goes…”just as gold made the state of California, so cattle made the state of Texas”

I shot this video hoping you could imagine yourself in the driver’s seat. The cattle are Brangus.

This entry was published on March 23, 2012 at 1:12 am. It’s filed under Gratitude, horses and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “Gratitude: Day 22 and gathering cattle

  1. A spectacular video, very real, but be careful woman lost a cow and came to the fields of my country, now that cow is here. Please count every head of cattle.
    Adiós…

  2. I felt like I was up in the saddle, too – wonderful!
    MJ

  3. You are amazing, this is wonderful video… Bravo dear Lissa, should be great fun. Thank you, with my love, nia

    • I appreciate you telling us about the This Amazing Life blog. The photos are so fun and took me back to a time when I was there with my grandmother and grandfather. Lovely!

Leave a Reply

