When I Ride…

Gratitude: Day 26 and Wild Onions

Otis was digging in the soft, sandy ground next to the river, yesterday. As the dirt was flying out from between his back legs, I started to notice little white bulbs with green tops lying on the top of the freshly dug soil. I smelled a familiar fragrance of onion and knew I had just found a tasty addition to my small supper I had planned for the evening.

I helped him dig some more. I am sure anyone watching would have thought I had lost my mind. Dog and girl on hands and knees, digging in the dirt together. The result was these beauties.

I rinsed them in the river and took them to the house. After sauteing them in a little olive oil, I set them on top of a salad of fresh, organic greens and viola! A late Spring supper from the river’s edge.

Wild River Onions

This entry was published on March 27, 2012 at 5:11 pm. It’s filed under Gratitude and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Gratitude: Day 26 and Wild Onions

  1. Yum!

    I noticed your font has changed and I can barely read it .. b/c I don’t want to miss what you have to say, I thought I should tell you.

    Hugs,
    MJ

Leave a Reply

