When I Ride…

Resurrection Day, the Easter Bunny and a Teutonic Goddess were walking down the street…

Many reference books write that the name “Easter” is derived from the name Eastre, the Teutonic goddess of Spring. While I don’t doubt this relationship exists, the origin of the name and the goddess are far more ancient – going all the way back to the Tower of Babel.

Anyway, Easter for many Christians growing up, is a time to hunt colored eggs the Easter Bunny left out in the yard the night before. I always woke up early as a girl and went to the window, hoping to catch a glimpse of the bunny as it was hiding eggs. Not to get a jump on my brothers when the egg hunt started later that morning…but to actually see the rabbit. Was it big? Did it look like a regular rabbit or did it wear glasses? A hat maybe? Did it walk on two feet because how else did it carry all of those eggs? There were so many questions in my little girl mind…they are still there.

Today, the day before Easter, I call it The Resurrection Day. I mean, that’s a lot more accurate, isn’t it? Even though I am sure Jesus was not resurrected on a Sunday and it has to do with the first week after the full moon or something…

What matters to me is that it happened. I believe it did. He came back, he is proof positive of the miracles and power of love, the most powerful force on Earth.

So Happy Resurrection Day, everyone.

Watch out for that rabbit.

This entry was published on April 7, 2012 at 8:35 pm. It’s filed under spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Resurrection Day, the Easter Bunny and a Teutonic Goddess were walking down the street…

  1. So beautiful, so beautiful… Happy Easter. Thanks and Love, nia

  2. My mother taught me that Easter always falls on the the first Sunday after the first full moon after the Spring Equinox. Her mother taught her. And when I calculate it, it’s always correct.

    He is risen … and I am thankful.
    MJ

  3. Interesting! K and I were just having that conversation last week about how the date for Easter is chosen each year. Yes, our best guess was in relation to the moon’s cycles.

Leave a Reply

