When I Ride…

Vaca y Vino in the Hill Country of Texas

What is it, I asked? I mean I know what “vaca” is and I know “vino” but what is it, what’s going on? They are roasting an entire steer on a pit, Argentinian style, was his answer. It is a fund raiser for the Farm & Ranch Freedom Alliance. This organization is a national organization (based in Texas) that supports independent family farmers and promotes healthy and safe farming and ranching practices. The feast takes place at the Bridges Ranch outside of Wimberley.

Well, we were supposed to be in Dallas on Saturday for a wedding and then San Antonio on Monday…I guess that meant Wimberley or somewhere in between on Sunday would work… so we went.

Out on a ranch west of Kyle and in conjunction with the Austin Food Festival…an Argentinian party was gearing up under an ancient oak tree. Located in a set of old cattle working pens, built many years ago under the old tree for shade, wine from Argentina waited to be tried and there were lines of people willing to do just that.

Tango music in the background, I wished for a dance floor.I don’t know how to Tango but after a couple of glasses of courage (wine), I knew if I could find someone to teach me I would be willing to try.

Glovertango

Meat, meat and more meat… began to come off the pit. Hats and boots showed up to partake and a feast of chimichurri sauce (Argentinean chimichurri made with chopped fresh parsley, oregano, garlic, olive oil, vinegar, and red pepper flakes) and pieces of roasted steer began making the rounds. How much meat can I eat?

steer and chimichurri

I have a pretty good idea now. How much can I laugh and cut up with friends? For hours…

Nice Crease

All Kinds of Hats

Cowgirl 1

Some boots...

and more boots.

Accordian in Tango Band

Piano for Tango

This entry was published on April 25, 2012 at 4:12 pm. It’s filed under travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Vaca y Vino in the Hill Country of Texas

  1. Surely you knew that I would leave a comment on this post. I’m happy to know that Argentine-style barbacoa – gaucho a good steak. Norton is the wine I drink is usually a Malbec, the grapes that are used grow at the edge of the Andes, where I walk there when I visit my parents in Mendoza. Chimichurri, tango, beautiful women, good hats, like a party.
    I lost the party.
    Thank you for showing a bit of my country.
    Adiós¡

  2. What a fun adventure; I wished I was right with you, wearing cowboy boots, a skirt and twirling the to accordion and piano 🙂 MJ

  3. Oh, yum! Let’s eat!
    Love the turquoise tops on the one pair of boots.
    But skirt?s I can just picture flies all over the bare legs! Ha!

Leave a Reply

