When I Ride…

Sometimes just a prayer of “Thank you” will do…

I have found myself feeling unsatisfied lately. I must be in some kind of transition. I always get this restless feeling right before there is a shift in my life. It has me a bit impatient though and I thought… maybe… instead of focusing on the things I would like to be different, I’m going to name 5 things a day to be grateful for. I’ll include one of my favorite photos.

Today:   1. MY RELATIONSHIP WITH MY NEPHEW, IAN. I think he is a fun person to talk to because at twelve years old, he is wise and I love how he gives the adults in his life, something to really think about.

2. My beaded reading glasses holder.  It is made of rough little semi-precious chips and hangs around my neck more than usual now. I’m starting to think of it as a piece of jewelry.

3. Lunch with a family I am close to.  I appreciate the way this family just opens their home to everyone. They make all of their guests feel like part of the family.

4. We had a safe and adventurous horseback ride this morning. No horses acting up. Everyone felt confident and safe and we saw parts of the ranch I don’t go to often so I got to see familiar scenery through other people’s eyes.

5. I turned the air conditioner off this morning and opened the house up to the breeze from the South. My house is under great big, oak trees and even though it is 91 degrees F. in the sun…it is still cool enough in here to leave the air conditioner off.

Here in the United States, we are celebrating Memorial Day. This day is for remembering all of the men and women who have died while serving in our military. It was originally called, “Decorations Day” because it was the day set aside to decorate the graves of the Confederate soldiers who died during the Civil War. Now it has grown to include every branch of the United States military.

Every country has mothers, fathers, daughters and sons who have given their life in service to their country. I would like to recognize all of them.

This entry was published on May 27, 2012 at 8:28 pm. It’s filed under Gratitude and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

