When I Ride…

I heard it through the grapevine…

I heard through the grapevine that someone from my past, an old friend I haven’t seen in years…still remembers me fondly. One of my friends was talking to that person and my name came up.

What a sweet gift it was to hear about it later. We always hope that even though it has been years since we have talked with someone..that they smile when they think of you. I was very grateful to hear about it. In fact…it made my day.

Modern technology has allowed us to reconnect with people from our childhood and maybe some old friends from college.  Somehow, those friendships are different from the ones established more recently. Of course, we have history with those folks but there is more to it than that, in my opinion. They knew you when you were struggling as a teenager or a new parent. They watched you struggle through a marriage or the death of a loved one.

Of course your new friends know you very well and love you dearly but those old friends have an insight into the other you.

Sometimes I feel as though I have had several lives, like a cat. If I ever got a tattoo, it would have to be a Phoenix.

The Phoenix

The Phoenix is a mythological bird, said to burst into flames when it died. It would then rise from its’ own ashes with new life.

Thought I’de share this dragon I saw out in the pasture. I think it is made from the trac of some piece of large equiptment.

This entry was published on June 5, 2012 at 2:46 pm. It’s filed under relationships and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “I heard it through the grapevine…

  1. Very good words for this post. Creativity flourishes and becomes interesting to read your thoughts. There’s a song that says: When we lived men in the stars. Everything can be secure in previous epochs.
    Brazil’s Ivete sings that song.
    Adiós Ave Fenix…

  2. I will find more information on that song. It sounds very nice. Thank you mi amigo.

  3. I’m not sure that pic is of a dragon, per se… might be of the Loch Ness monster or the Lake Champlain Monster (a.k.a. Champy). That’s usually how they are represented.

Leave a Reply

