When I Ride…

“Free” – is not a four letter word…

When we were children, our parents dictated to us what we could and could not experience. It was seen as a loving thing because they wanted to protect us. Amen. That was their job.

Do you remember saying to yourself…when I grow up, I am going to do whatever I want. ?

The idea of freedom was incredibly exciting.

As I got older, I became afraid of making mistakes and disappointing those I cared about. It was a self-imposed prison.

As I have moved beyond that stage in my life, I encourage myself to say YES to all that I can. Spontaneity only becomes possible with freedom.

There is not one person in my life now that would try to hold me back. I’m not sure if it’s because I finally weeded them all out or they all just gave up…but I love my freedom. It is my God-given right and I am exercising it.

I love feeling free and open to the world.

Michael A. Singer tells a “what if” story about how we could go through life and then the Angel of Death shows up and says, It is your time, let’s go…

You say, wait a minute! You didn’t give me a week to say this or that to someone. I have been waiting to go to Patagonia till I had enough money…I need at least one more week!

The Angel of Death says, …I gave you 56 years. My gosh, how many weeks is that? What have you been doing all this time? I’m sorry but your time on Earth has come to an end. Let’s go.

And you have to leave…you have to.

Just something to think about. Have a nice day!

My Zen teacher also said: the only way to true happiness is to live in the moment and not worry about the future. Of course, he died penniless and single. –Carrie, Sex and the City

This entry was published on August 5, 2012 at 7:12 pm. It’s filed under travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on ““Free” – is not a four letter word…

  1. Free as the wind and without borders, good post …

Leave a Reply

