When I Ride…

Countdown to a new chapter…

Your time is limited, so don‘t waste it living someone else‘s life. Don‘t be trapped by dogma, which is living with the results of other people‘s thinking. Don‘t let the noise of others‘ opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.‖ —Steve Jobs

I made a trip to California last week. It wasn’t business and it wasn’t pleasure. I was trying to take care of some family issues and it wasn’t going well. At least not from my perspective it wasn’t.

I had taken the trip with expectations even though I assured myself I wasn’t.

I have come to believe that I can hope for particular things to happen but I still would like to go into situations with no expectation of how it will all turn out. That way, not only am I not disappointed…I hope to stay out of God’s way while He is doing His will in my life. I know His imagination is way grander and full of pleasant surprises than anything I can come up with.

But with all that being said, as the trip played out…it was not going the way I had hoped for and I was feeling disappointed about the events of the trip, even after telling myself I wouldn’t.

I sat feeling defeated on the plane heading back to Texas, thinking and wondering how it had all come to this? Then I remembered this quote by Steve Jobs and stopped myself.

Why am I wasting time wondering about anything that I obviously have no control over? I know I am a person who makes it a daily goal to treat others with kindness…to treat others the way I would like to be treated.

We are only in control of our own thoughts and our own behavior. What others do with it is not our concern or any of our business.

I guess I’m just kind of self soothing here but I’m sure these words will hit home for some of you. We all have high expectations for our lives and are constantly trying to improve them.

My heart and intuition are telling me to let those desires go and move on.

God has everyone right where He wants them and I’m getting out of the way and starting a new chapter in my life.

Masa Verde

I’m heading to Colorado in three weeks, to live for one month. I have been accepted as an intern at an Equine Facilitated Learning Center. I will be there for the month of October and I have a lot of things to do to make sure all of my horse friends here at the ranch, are set up to do without me for a month.  I also need to prepare for living in a bunk house in the high, cool desert of the Four Corners area.

My posts will have a slightly different theme in that I will be describing a new and exciting time in my life. Because I don’t know that much about this type of therapy, I will be writing about my experiences with a fresh new set of eyes.

It is my intention to spread information about equine assisted learning to people who maybe have not heard about it but could be blessed by it in one way or another.

Photos of the Land of the Navaho and Hopi, sage covered desert and the new horses I will be responsible for, will take the place of the Texas Hill Country for a while.  Stay tuned…

This entry was published on September 6, 2012 at 3:39 am. It’s filed under horses, travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Countdown to a new chapter…

  1. Oh ya, I hear ya. So much so that I’m copying and pasting a quote that stays on my desktop: “The secret to happiness is freedom… And the secret to freedom is courage.”
    -Thucydides
    My thoughts are with you…Enjoy the ride!
    ~d.

  2. No matter how long the storm, the sun always shines again between the clouds. You know very well, the way of life has hurdles to jump, you’re a good rider and even know where the storm comes …
    Godspeed, good vibes and a learner’s give you wisdom. I hope that when you watch south, here is a friend present.

Leave a Reply

