When I Ride…

The Rabbit from Alice in Wonderland…

I’m late! I’m late! For a very important date! No time to say hello, goodbye! I’m late, I’m late, I’m late!- The Rabbit from Alice in Wonderland

One of the things I have learned for sure while I’ve been in Colorado, is how many mysteries there are in a single moment. The geology and spirit of Colorado, envelops me as I move through it. There is something new wherever I look and when I get home to Texas, I will be more observant because I know these mysteries are there as well. I don’t have to leave my home to find something new to investigate and learn about. Just digging in the garden or getting it ready for winter will present enough mystery on its own.

Even the most mundane task has become new in my experience and I relish what God is placing in my path very morning when I open my eyes. If you are driving to work and are looking for a way to make it new, I would suggest keeping your eyes open for a new business that you might be interested in trying, a new restaurant that maybe looked like a dive yesterday, but upon further investigation, could become your new favorite place. No telling who you might meet there or run into after thirty some odd years.

The synchronicity of this world creates an adventure not even to be imagined if you are open and watching for it. Life can be a fun game, eager to be played if you will only look.

To see, I have had to slow down. When I first arrived, I attacked most of my chores to finish quickly and efficiently, creating faster and better ways. As I slowed down, I began to appreciate the beauty of my strong hands as they deftly tied a knot or fastened a halter on a horse’s head. The hands are truly amazing tools, to be protected and appreciated. As I wash the bowl and plate I use everyday, the warmth of the soapy water is comforting and the bubbles, a brilliant display of rainbow colors in the sunlight. God is everywhere. It is so easy to become a slave to your schedule. Please slow down and notice.

This entry was published on October 17, 2012 at 3:08 pm. It’s filed under nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “The Rabbit from Alice in Wonderland…

  1. It is absolutely true. Running time friend and your philosophy of life and way of seeing things spiritual and realistic a prospect always makes your letters and words are interesting.
    Your words reminded me:
    Do not let the day end without having grown a bit,
    without being happy, without increasing your dreams. Walt Whitman

  2. Thank you for always providing a sincere and thoughtful comment. Your poem by Walt Whitman is one I hold in my heart as well.

  3. Hi, Lissa,
    I’m visiting from MJ’s (isn’t she a sweetheart!). Loving your blog…!

Leave a Reply

