When I Ride…

One Man’s Trash…

IMG_3499

We have all heard them before…the quotes about how different, sometimes opposite… a person’s perspective can be from another’s in any given situation. I am reading, for the second time…a book: Feel the Fear and Do It Anyway, by Dr. Susan Jeffers. This book has floated around on my periphery for a few years and then a fellow coach and good friend, Mary Dunn, snatched it up and pushed it in my direction. It speaks about looking at the moment in a positive way no matter if everyone else decides to see it as a negative.

One man’s trash, is another man’s treasure…I was reading Emjay’s blog this morning and it was brought to my attention again. One person’s gray and dreary clouds might be another’s relief from the sun.

An old high school mate, Valerie, put a photo of a dried and brittle thistle leaf on her Facebook page and I commented it looked like a dragon. Some people just saw a dead leaf.

Each of us know this to be true. We all see through different lenses. The lense created by childhood experiences that are only ours not someone else’s. So why do we still insist that we are right and someone else is not…because they do not agree with us?

I hear people say that they know the “truth” of the matter…really? Is it possible, just possible…that what someone else believes could be as valid as what you believe?

Depends…right?

IMG_4154

I was walking today, observing large tree trunks piled on each other because they had died and been pushed into a pile. Oh, how sad…was my first thought, to lose all of these big giants to a tree disease, then as I was exploring the underside of the roots, I found fossil after fossil. Big beautiful fossils hidden beneath the surface of what seemed like a tragedy.

IMG_4169

I’ve been silent for a while. I haven’t felt the need to be heard much lately. This idea of being open to NOT seeing something as all bad seemed important though so I’ll throw it out there and you can do with it what you  will. I’m walking into the new year with the intention of being open to all possibilities.

IMG_4165

I know I feel better…Happy New Year.

This entry was published on December 31, 2012 at 3:01 pm. It’s filed under contemplations and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “One Man’s Trash…

  1. I couldn’t agree with you more Lissa. I believe that way of conducting ourselves can’t help but be a better and more enjoyable way to go through our lives. 🙂
    Happy New Year!
    ~d.

  2. Wow, you hit the jackpot. I don’t think there are ammonite fossils here is Michigan, anyway, I’ve never discovered them. They are among my favorites.

    I appreciate your thoughts about how we all see through a different lens. Had a conversation with my neice the other day cause we agreed she tends to want to always be right. I admitted I used to be the same way and have learned to know when to keep my mouth shut!LOL So glad I discovered another fossil enthusiast!

    • As you know, this part of Texas was a shallow ocean and we have coral reefs and sea urchins, clams, ammonites…it’s a treasure hunt each time I go for a walk. I never find arrowheads but I’m always carting home fossils. Thanks for the interest!!

Leave a Reply

