When I Ride…

Working with my ancestors

20130319-091648.jpg

“Friendship with oneself is all important, because without it one cannot be friends with anyone else in the world.”
—Eleanor Roosevelt

I have just finished a week alone in my horse trailer while working on an obstacle course at a new riding location for clients. Hours alone with your own thoughts… thanking the ancestors for teaching me self sufficiency, knowing when to ask and appreciating help from time to time, I felt like my grandparents and dad were working with me side by side. Wild birds came to visit and offer encouragement. I welcomed them with hands full of bird seed and buckets of water.
This morning as I feed the horses the last of the alfalfa and put buckets in the trailer and secure dishes and pots and pans, I stand up, survey what I’ve done, take a deep breath and give thanks for my excellent health, strong mind and desire for great things in my life.
Just a quick post from Dripping Springs,Texas.

This entry was published on March 19, 2013 at 2:23 pm and is filed under horses. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Working with my ancestors

  1. Sydney on said:

    Awww!
    I know EXACTLY what you mean!
    SO SO Proud of you and HONORED to call you SIS:-)
    Can hardly wait to have our “come together” time to Gab
    XOxo
    Squidley

  2. Karen Oldmixon on said:

    Sound’s like you’re living your dream!!!

Leave a Reply

