When I Ride…

Just because you are intelligent, doesn’t mean you’re smart…

“Knowing a great deal is not the same as being smart; intelligence is not information alone but also judgment, the manner in which information is collected and used” –Dr. Carl Sagan

Annie on the trail

My son once told me he thought common sence wasn’t common anymore…in this world of technology, are people forgetting or just not learning the skills to survive? Recently, I competed in a long distance ride where one of the skills necessary was to read the map that showed the course and how to get to the finish. You didn’t have to know how to read a compass, although it did help me once…but I was surprised at how many competitors did not understand how to follow the map. It wasn’t on their iPhone so they weren’t sure where to go. I could see that happening to me because my iPhone makes me feel like a local what ever city I am in.

But, the common sence thing…West is where the sun goes down. East is where it rises. Are we not teaching our children that anymore?

I’m not scolding, just trying to bring something to awareness. We are losing our connection to nature.

“It was good for the skin to touch the earth, and the old people liked to remove their moccasins and walk with bare feet on the sacred earth… The soil was soothing, strengthening, cleansing, and healing.”
Chief Luther Standing Bear, TETON SIOUX
Touching the earth – getting grounded, centered. There is magic in touching the earth and feeling her healing power. This is especially healthy to do during a troubling time when our minds are racing or can’t stop thinking or are locked onto fear or resentment. When I need to feel free I can go to the Mother Earth. The Mother Earth is full of life and love. She always gives her powers to those who come to her. The Mother Earth is alive.- borrowed from White Bison Elder’s Meditation
This entry was published on June 16, 2013 at 6:49 pm. It’s filed under nature and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Just because you are intelligent, doesn’t mean you’re smart…

  1. You are so right about commonsense not being very common anymore!
    People skills can also be taught; respect, courtesy and grace!
    Montana misses you

Leave a Reply

