When I Ride…

The Road to Dove Creek…

I’m on my way again…another month at Buffalo Woman Ranch and I will be that much closer and have that much more experience for my certification in Equine Facilitated Learning and Healing. The road trip there and back is some of my favorite part of this experience. Photos from today with a brief explanation…

I woke up with the full intention of leaving the ranch by 5:30am. All of those great plans…when I realised I had left my computer at the house I had to turn around and drive home. Oh well, the sun was still only an orange glow in my rear view mirror as I drove West into the dawn.

IMG_7172

heading West

Driving through Dublin, Texas, where they started Dr. Pepper

IMG_7171

Old Dr. Pepper advertisement…

This is the route that Tracy took when she hit the cow…better keep my eyes open. I smell the aroma of roasting peanuts as I pass through Gorman, Texas…empty cattle trucks and a solitary dog walking along the side of the road, thinking his own thoughts…My girlfriend “Squid” as I call her, her name is Sydney, she knows I am on my way and calls to wish me a bon voyage. It wasn’t too long ago, she was in this little Toyota with me headed to New Mexico and the warm waters of Ojo Caliente, which will be my resting place tonight. Eleven hours will fly because I enjoy so much, the journey. The photos, the people, the sights and smells.

energy windmills at Sweetwater, Texas

energy windmills at Sweetwater, Texas

Meeting the highway at Eastland, Texas and passing Albany, where the cowboys are just west enough, they start to crease their hats differently. It’s true. If you are an observant person, you can get a pretty good idea of where a man is from by how he creases his hat. I stopped in Hermleigh, Texas, to run an errand at the post office.

Post Office hanging in there

Post Office hanging in there

Poor, United States Postal Service…the internet is taking quite a toll on their business. Our post office by the ranch has been on the chopping block a couple of times and it looks like this one is next. They were not open…

Llano Estacado Uplift Map

Llano Estacado Uplift Map

Up I went, onto the Llano Estacado, the huge mesa, one of the largest in North America, that stretches over into New Mexico, land of the Comanche and Apache. It may be a gradual climb but I started at 9oo feet in Walnut Springs and am close to 5000 at the mesa’s highest point. I hear the water bottles pop and expand in the back of the car as I see the windmills and smell the sulphur of the pumpjack country.

pump jack outside of Lubbock, Texas

pump jack outside of Lubbock, Texas

Are you getting a feel for this trip? I love this state. I am weirdly proud of this beautiful country. I get choked up writing about this “empire, wide and glorious…”

City mural for Slaton, Texas

City mural for Slaton, Texas

another city mural

another city mural

road art

road art

Santa Fe Railroad is a historic figure out here

Santa Fe Railroad is a historic figure out here

IMG_7212Into the big sky country of New Mexico, I cross at Clovis and continue to Santa Rosa, then take a right up to Ft. Sumner where they claim to have the gravesite of Billy the Kid. I say claim, because a couple of other places claim his body as well. Hico, Texas being one of them. It’s a mystery…

adobe church at Ojo Caliente

adobe church at Ojo Caliente

Moving carefully around the edge of beautiful Santa Fe, turning north at Espanola, at last, I’m here. The little adobe church greets me as I turn onto the springs road.

adobe church under the cottonwood trees

adobe church under the cottonwood trees

I love to sit at Santa Cruz Chapel and give thanks for my safe trip, mi viaje seguro y hermoso…

Now for a hike and a soak then light supper, glass of wine and bed. Thank you, God.

hike down the dry river bed...

hike down the dry river bed…

This entry was published on August 1, 2013 at 2:14 pm. It’s filed under travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “The Road to Dove Creek…

  1. A wonderful post, it’s nice to see this chronicle of your journey, precious photographs, a way that you share and breaking our routine today. So our imagination travels with you. Good journey and good luck, always in the hand of God.
    Adiós
    Cruz

Leave a Reply

