When I Ride…

Imagine a Horse…

20131011-171400.jpg

20131011-171454.jpg

20131011-171508.jpg

20131011-171521.jpg

Sometimes life hands you a big present. For the past three days I have been in Dripping Springs, Texas, attending a trick training class at Red Horse Ranch. Allen Pogue, Sue De Laurentis and Kristi Unsell instructed more than 15 students in the basics of trick training, a discipline not just for performance but also to create a wonderful companion animal that will be fun to be with even after the horse becomes too old to ride. Trick training is a means of increasing the intelligence, adaptability, and desire of the horse to interact with us.
I may not be teaching Minnow to lay down this week but he will learn to smile and retrieve a ball. Best of all this training encourages communication and a desire to interact with me.
A horse that desires my company is like waking up to Christmas morning every day. Icing on the cake will be everything that I learn from him.
I hope you enjoy some of the photos I took during the last few days. In the future, Minnow will be the horse in the picture… Fingers crossed.

20131011-171439.jpg

20131011-171426.jpg

20131011-171412.jpg

20131011-171345.jpg

This entry was published on October 11, 2013 at 10:21 pm. It’s filed under horses and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “Imagine a Horse…

  1. Reblogged this on Robin of Rockridge's Blog and commented:
    This looks like fun!

  2. Molly Burnette on said:

    Wonderful Lissa! What a fulfilling relationship you’ll have with Minnow.

  3. My daughters’ horses, they sort of smile when they see the treats bag. One of them is quite interested in technology – Captain Andrew was checking out my laptop bag. Suspect he was really looking for apple slices.

    • That’s funny. I have a great photo of Minnow checking out my computer when I set it on his feed bucket, opened up. A horse website is using it for their tech announcements. Pretty comical

Leave a Reply

