When I Ride…

So Long for Now…

Merry Christmas, Happy New Year...

Merry Christmas, Happy New Year…

The end of 2013 went out with a bang! Wow! Starting in November, there were birthdays, then family weddings…then Christmas and now the new year.

There goes that gorgeous couple

There goes that gorgeous couple

Traveling from Central Texas to North-Central Texas, living in my horse trailer during those trips, teaching riding, coaching…and not much internet access. Here and there I might grab a spot with my phone but only to check emails and such.

Decorating

Decorating

Decorating the old Fischer dance hall for my nephew’s reception, eating lots of the wedding cake my sister made…IMG_9819It has been a wonderful time of celebration with family and friends, the perfect ending to an amazing year…and it got me to thinking, when was the last time I posted on my blog?

walking through sparklers

walking through sparklers

I have come to the realization, I have a lot of “irons in the fire”, as some say, and although I am always taking pictures…the writing part is not as high a priority as it has been in the past.

Now I’m back at the ranch in North Texas and we are loading up into the helicopter to count deer this morning. We had to wait until it wasn’t freezing…

IMG_9903and I’m making tortilla soup and sandwiches for lunch when they all come in.

I think I’ll take a break from the blog. It’s not goodbye. It’s hasta luego…you see, I’m leaving for Argentina on the 29th to ride criollo horses with gauchos in Patagonia. Now that might be a good time to start writing again.

Thank you for reading what I’ve written so far. It has been a grand, learning experience. Bet I’ll see you in a few months…

This entry was published on January 8, 2014 at 4:57 pm. It’s filed under nature and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

13 thoughts on “So Long for Now…

  1. Carmen Mattei Greenlee on said:

    Happy 2014! Enjoy Argentina – I love it, although I’ve only spent time in Buenos Aires. Will look forward to new posts upon your return.

  2. How exciting! 🙂
    All the best! We look forward to read about your new adventures.
    Take care.
    Greetings from the North (of Norfolk)
    The fabulous Four,
    DinF

  3. Have a wonderful time. The gauchos are amazing horsemen. … Look forward yo reading about your adventures.

  4. I for one will miss reading about your adventures and looking at the amazing pictures! Until you are back, I will wait patiently, anticipating horse pictures and stories.
    See you soon friend

  5. Beautiful wedding! Looking forward to seeing photos and reading of Argentina! Safe travels Lissa.
    ~d.

  6. I’ve missed your posts but I understand .. and will be waiting to hear the news from Argentina … gosh that was a beautiful dance hall and couple rushing through the sparklers. And Otis looks mighty handsome with a scarf 🙂

    MJ

  7. What a great trip! Sounds like a lot of good irons too. :). I’ll be here when you get back, have a grand time.

  8. Tommie Lu Schewe on said:

    Wonderful. I’m sure you’ll wow them in Patagonnia. Thanks and love, Tommie Lu

  9. Glad to know you were in Patagonia, where infinity is far, where the water is clear and pure, there the wind sings and whistles, where the mountains seem cathedrals, where the landscapes appear hand painted by God … , where the matte is shared with friends and the sunsets are a poem … 😉

Leave a Reply

