When I Ride…

When I Am An Old Horsewoman

A lovely poem to read every year…

Dawn Wink: Dewdrops

When I'm an Old Horsewoman When I’m an Old Horsewoman

I sat with coffee and candles this morning and read this poem. It speaks of such spirit and beauty. 
For you.
*
When I Am An Old Horsewoman
I shall wear turquoise and diamonds,
And a straw hat that doesn’t suit me
And I shall spend my social security on
white wine and carrots,
And sit in my alleyway of my barn
And listen to my horses breathe.
*
I will sneak out in the middle of a summer night
And ride the old bay gelding,
Across the moonstruck meadow
If my old bones will allow
And when people come to call, I will smile and nod
As I walk past the gardens to the barn
and show instead the flowers growing
inside stalls fresh-lined with straw.
I will shovel and sweat and wear hay in my hair
as if it were a jewel
*

View original post 110 more words

This entry was published on May 16, 2015 at 2:44 pm and is filed under horses. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “When I Am An Old Horsewoman

  1. love this poem! Miss you

    • I’m not surprised you love this poem. We both have a bit of her in us, don’t we? Love and miss you too Keep the village from floating Away before I get back.

      >

Leave a Reply

