First he’s a stallion, then he’s not…

Making new friends

Taking a young horse to be castrated during the height of all the fear around the COVID-19 virus was an interesting challenge. They decided it was an essential surgery of which I was very glad because I have three mares on my place and they all decided it would be fun to come into heat when he showed up. All they needed was a little guy nickering over the fence to them and we were full on ready to be bred. Nature is amazing. When my appointment came up, I was to pull into the back of the vet parking lot area and unload my horse back there. Then wait for someone who came with a mask and gloves, the full outfit… To take my horse to his holding pen. I was not allowed to go in. Talking to the vet later, she assured me everything went as predicted and I could pick him up that evening after the clinic was closed. He loaded easily in the trailer still on his pain meds and I took him home and kept him up in a small pen with my big wise gelding, Minnow. The next day began a consistent amount of hand walking every day to keep the incision open so it could drain from the inside out and heal. It wasn’t long before I noticed him not lifting his left rear leg very high. It worried me because the other leg seemed fine. I felt the incision area after about a week and there was a large collection of fluid and swelling and I imagine, scar tissue developing. He just didn’t seem to want to lift that leg and I was worried something might have gotten pulled or injured during the surgery. Horses can hurt themselves in so many crazy ways, you just never know. Just when I was about to call and make an appointment for the veterinarian to check out the situation I noticed the swelling was starting to go down. This was a good two weeks almost 3 after the surgery. All my worry was for nothing because now he is happy as can be, just as playful just as rambunctious and all is well. I have such high hopes for this guy and I am excited about playing with him and working with him… The discoveries are going to be unlimited.

When life was fun with your mom
Learning to stand tied

One thought on “First he’s a stallion, then he’s not…

Leave a comment